Ink Review: Diamine Celadon Cat (selected by r/fountainpens)

Today I’m reviewing Diamine Celadon Cat ink. This is a Diamine ink colour chosen by the r/fountainpens community on Reddit. Unusually for this year it is one of two inks chosen. The other ink is called Sailors Warning (shimmer).

It’s an unsaturated celadon green ink that leans blue. A really unusual colour. Less green than Kyo No Oto Urahairo and less blue than Kyo No Oto Hisoku. Somewhere in between.

My wet cotton bud swabs show an almost marbled surface.

It didn’t suffer from any hard starts or non-starts when I put the uncapped pen down to do swab tests, dry times and water resistance.

It flowed very well and wrote smoothly across the paper using my different nibs with my Lamy Joy and I enjoyed writing with it.

I saw plenty of nice shading and it dried quickly on most of the papers I used. There was some slight show through on Rhodia Dot Pad but I could still have written on the reverse of all of the papers I used.

  • Flow Rate: Very good. Wet in wider nibs.
  • Lubrication: Very smooth.
  • Nib Dry-out: Not noticed.
  • Start-up: Immediate.
  • Saturation: Unsaturated ink.
  • Shading Potential: Plenty of shading seen.
  • Show-Through/Bleed Through: Occasional show through.
  • Spread / Feathering / Woolly Line: None seen.
  • Nib Creep / “Crud”: Not seen.
  • Staining (pen): Very easy clean-up with water.
  • Staining (hands): Very easy clean-up with water.
  • Clogging: Not seen.
  • Water resistance: Neither waterproof nor water resistant.
  • Availability: Available in 30ml plastic or 80ml glass bottles from Diamine Inks. In many retailers worldwide from April 17th 2023.

2 thoughts on “Ink Review: Diamine Celadon Cat (selected by r/fountainpens)

  1. Many, many thanks for an excellent review – extremely comprehensive and very helpful. This looks very much like what I would call “Cambridge Blue”. I shall certainly order a bottle and I can hardly wait to see what it looks like on paper (as opposed to its appearance on my computer screen).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment