Ink Review: Robert Oster NYC – LE NYC Pen Show 2022

I received this ink as a sample from a friend and believe it’s the Limited Edition ink issued at the 2022 New York Pen Show.

It’s a turquoise/sky blue ink that leans more blue than green and is quite similar to several other Robert Oster sky blue type ink colours.

NYC isn’t a saturated ink and it flowed very well through my pens. It didn’t feel dry, and seemed smoothly lubricated when writing across the page. I saw a little shading.

I didn’t notice any skips or hard starts when I put the uncapped pen down to do swab tests, dry times and water resistance. I didn’t spot any feathering but there was a bit of spread on the Exacompta FAF.

There was a lot of show through and bleed through from all nibs on Exacompta FAF paper. It was as bad as any I’ve ever seen. There was also a little show through on the Rhodia writing paper, Rhodia Dot Pad and Whitelines but I could easily have written on the reverse of those.

Robert Oster inks come in 50ml plastic bottles that are quite tall making it easy to fill fountain pens from, but they are quite easy to tip over so I usually place mine in a wide, squat, glass pot when I open it.

  • Start-up: Immediate.
  • Nib Dry-out: Not noticed.
  • Nib Creep / “Crud”: Not seen.
  • Show through/ Bleed through: Lots on Exacompta FAF. One sided writing. A little show through on Rhodia writing paper, Rhodia DotPad & Whitelines but I could still write on the reverse of those.
  • Staining (pen): Not seen after several days – easy clean-up.
  • Staining (hands): Easy clean. My hands were clean after one wash.
  • Clogging: Not seen.
  • Water resistance: Not sold as waterproof but has reasonable water resistance.
  • Availability: Only available in 50ml plastic bottles that were sold at several US outlets.

Leave a comment